Prompt of the Day

What personal belongings do you hold most dear?

In my younger days I was something of a hoarder. I found it impossible to throw anything away and kept everything no matter how tatty it was. I remember as a child crying my eyes out because my mum threw away a picture in a frame that had smashed and she had to physically stop me from retrieving it from the bin.

Since becoming a mum and going through some massive life changes a few years ago my priorities have very much changed. All I want now is happiness and peace which I no longer try to get from physical things. My most precious possessions are my camera and my laptop (which I purchased with money that my grandad gifted me). They are special to me because of the happiness that using them brings me and the future that I can see myself having because of them. Apart from those I have a few pieces of jewellery from each of my Nanans (Grandma’s) that are special to me.

I used to be so scared of being in a house fire because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to save all my things. Now as long as Evie was safe I would be fine. If I had time I would grab my laptop and camera bags and maybe my phone but I’m much more aware now of what is replaceable and what isn’t.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Ashley says:

    Rachel, you are right! Yet just look at the world, where possessions and the means to getting them, seems to be the only way to live. Have a lovely bank holiday weekend. 🙋‍♂️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rachel Davis says:

      Thank you! I hope you enjoyed your weekend 🙂

      Like

  2. pvcann says:

    This resonates

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ♥️♥️♥️

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Christie C. says:

    It’s amazing how priorities change as our life circumstances change. I hesitate now when I bring new things into my house unless they provide value to my needs and goals. There’s a beautiful world out there if we distance ourselves from “things,”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rachel Davis says:

      I completely agree with you. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Christie C. says:

        You’re welcome! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  5. genius words says:

    The things that mattered in the past are things which we crave for in present but without any hope of getting it back. We beleive the moments we cherished are better than upcoming ones, and in this hope of finding something which soothes us and comforts the whole disturbed being , somewhere the life lies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rachel Davis says:

      I completely agree with you 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment